# RUN Powered by ADP RUN Powered by ADP is a small-business payroll product rated 4.7/5 on G2 (6,587 reviews) and 4.6/5 on Capterra (1,570 reviews). Profile: pricing tiers, parent company, compliance, and sourced sentiment. **Category:** Small-business payroll and HR (1-49 employees) **Vendor:** ADP, Inc. **Founded:** RUN launched as part of ADP's small-business lineup; ADP itself was founded in 1949 **HQ:** Roseland, New Jersey, US (ADP corporate HQ) **Website:** https://www.adp.com/what-we-offer/products/run-powered-by-adp.aspx ## About RUN Powered by ADP is a payroll and basic HR platform built for businesses with roughly 1 to 49 employees. It is a distinct product from Roll by ADP (a chat-based mobile payroll app for very small teams) and from ADP Workforce Now (ADP's platform for mid-market and enterprise HR). RUN runs on ADP's long-standing tax filing infrastructure and adds background checks, onboarding, an HR toolkit, and HR advisory depending on the tier purchased. ADP itself is a publicly traded company founded in 1949, headquartered in Roseland, New Jersey, and trades on Nasdaq under the ticker ADP. ## Ratings | Source | Score | Reviews | |---|---|---| | G2 | 4.7/5 | 6,587 | | Capterra | 4.6/5 | 1,570 | ## Funding ADP subsidiary product; ADP is publicly traded (Nasdaq: ADP), not venture funded ## Viability Low risk from a company-survival standpoint. ADP is a decades-old public company with roughly 21 billion dollars in trailing annual revenue, so RUN is not going to disappear for lack of funding. The product-level risk is different: RUN competes against newer, cheaper, friendlier-UI small-business payroll tools, and its own G2 reviews consistently flag an interface that has not kept pace with Gusto or Rippling. Buyers are paying for compliance depth and brand longevity, not for the best day-to-day experience. ## Pricing RUN Powered by ADP publishes only its entry tier: $79/mo plus $4 per employee for Essential, which covers basic payroll and tax filing for 1-49 employees. Enhanced, Complete, and HR Pro all require a custom quote from a sales rep, and third-party reviews commonly report setup fees of $500 to $2,000 that are not mentioned until later in the sales process. Budget for a real quote to run well above the published floor once add-ons are included. | Plan | Price | Best for | |---|---|---| | Essential | $79/mo + $4/employee | 1-49 employees, basic payroll and tax filing | | Enhanced | Custom quote | Background checks and onboarding tools included | | Complete | Custom quote | HR toolkit and employee handbook builder | | HR Pro | Custom quote | Full HR advisory and compliance support | ## What reviewers say _6,587 G2 reviews averaging 4.7/5 and 1,570 Capterra reviews averaging 4.6/5_ **Praised:** - Tax filing and compliance reliability is the most consistent theme, reviewers trust ADP to handle federal, state, and local filings correctly - Customer support quality is rated highly on average, with many reviewers citing a responsive account rep once onboarded - Background check tooling and the broader HR toolkit are cited as useful add-ons that competitors charge extra for or do not offer at all - Setup and onboarding assistance from ADP staff is called out as smoother than self-serve competitors for non-technical owners **Complaints:** - Pricing opacity is the most-cited complaint, the published base rate is treated as a floor and most real quotes require a sales call - Setup fees in the $500 to $2,000 range are reported as not disclosed upfront in the initial sales conversation - The interface is described as dated compared to newer tools like Gusto or Rippling, with a steeper learning curve - Everything above the Essential tier requires a custom quote, which some reviewers find frustrating when comparison shopping ## Compliance - **GDPR:** Not independently verified for the RUN product; ADP operates globally and serves EU customers ## Integrations - QuickBooks (Online, Pro, Premier, Enterprise) - Xero - Wave - ADP's broader HR/benefits ecosystem ## FAQs ### Is RUN Powered by ADP the same as Roll by ADP? No. Roll by ADP is a separate, chat-based mobile payroll app aimed at businesses under 20 employees. RUN Powered by ADP is a web and mobile platform for businesses up to roughly 49 employees, with four tiers that add background checks, HR tools, and HR advisory as you move up. They are priced and sold separately. ### How much does RUN Powered by ADP actually cost? The published Essential tier is $79/mo plus $4 per employee. Everything above Essential (Enhanced, Complete, HR Pro) requires a custom quote, and reviewers commonly report setup fees of $500 to $2,000 that are not disclosed until later in the sales conversation. Treat the published number as a floor, not a final price. ### Does RUN Powered by ADP offer a free trial? Some third-party comparison sites report a promotional 3-month free trial, but this is not consistently published on ADP's own site and may vary by offer and region. Confirm directly with an ADP sales rep before assuming it applies. ### What size business is RUN Powered by ADP built for? ADP positions RUN for businesses with roughly 1 to 49 employees. Larger organizations are typically routed to ADP Workforce Now, ADP's mid-market and enterprise HR platform. ### What do RUN Powered by ADP reviewers complain about most? The two most consistent complaints across G2 and Capterra reviews are pricing opacity (undisclosed setup fees and custom quotes above the entry tier) and a dated user interface compared to newer competitors like Gusto or Rippling. ## Sources - [G2 - RUN Powered by ADP reviews](https://www.g2.com/products/run-powered-by-adp/reviews): rating (4.7/5), review count (6,587), live-verified via browser - [Capterra - RUN Powered by ADP](https://www.capterra.com/p/185859/RUN-Powered-by-ADP/reviews/): rating (4.6/5), sub-scores, review count (1,570), live-verified via browser - [ADP - RUN Powered by ADP product page](https://www.adp.com/what-we-offer/products/run-powered-by-adp.aspx): product positioning, pricing tier names - [ADP mediacenter - RUN named Best Small Business Software by G2](https://mediacenter.adp.com/run-named-best-small-business-software-by-g2-2026): G2 2026 award - [ADP Inc investor relations / company profile](https://www.adp.com/about-adp.aspx): founding year, HQ, public listing - [Wikipedia - ADP (company)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ADP_(company)): founding history, headquarters, ticker - [Xero App Store - RUN Powered by ADP](https://apps.xero.com/us/app/run-powered-by-adp): Xero integration